Cipher and Codes – Kick Start

Cipher and Codes Kick Start was a really fun activity.  I had to read through the slides attached and use codes to decrypt the encrypted messages.   I then had to create my own message using ‘pig pen’ or ‘Atabash’.  I decided to do one of each, I hope you have fun decrypting my  two favourite places to go in summer.

I found atabash a lot  easier to use to encrypt and decrypt.  Pig pen was a lot harder for me to understand to start with but once I got the hang of it it was fun too.

I really liked how the slides not only had things written but also had the option to listen to each slide.  This was really helpful when it came to new words that I have never seen before.

 

One thought on “Cipher and Codes – Kick Start

  1. Kia ora Lucas,

    I must admit, you are the first person I have seen so far who has tried and succeeded in tackling the Pig Pen code. I’ll also admit I didn’t really understand Pig Pen code myself either but you forced me to figure it out and I did get it in the end but I agree with you, it is trickier than Atabash.

    These are the answers I got…
    Kai Iwi Lake
    Waitangi Bike Track

    What fabulous places to visit. Have you visited both these places this summer?

    Why do you think codes like this existed?

    I’m so glad you kept at it with both codes Lucas and had some success. Great work. Keep up the awesome mahi.

    Anna
    SLJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *